Party with the Animals Dec. 11 at Dallas City Shelter!

Guest post by Andy Allen, Principal, Allen & Associates (Writer & Editor) & Vice President, Dallas Animal Advocates

DAAbeds2011Reduced adoption prices, free pet photos, and the best selection of cats and dogs in town … what could be more festive?

Try this: A chance to share your holiday spirit with the homeless cats and dogs at Dallas Animal Services. It’s time for the Dallas Animal Advocates holiday bedding drive. This was a huge help to the shelter last year. This year, the goal is to raise enough money to buy warm, comfy beds to last every animal, all year ’round. So, collect your spare cash — and your clean, used sheets and towels — and head out to the shelter! It’ll be a special afternoon of silliness and celebration.

The festivities will run from 1 to 4 p.m. on Sunday, Dec. 11. Plan on coming home with your new furrever friend, because adoption fees will be only $30 all day. Plus, pet photos will be free with every adoption.

(Not to worry! Even if you just can’t bring home another Fluffy or Fido this year, you can still get a great pet photo. Just make a cash donation to the bedding fund, or bring some moist treats or canned food for the critters.)

The animals can’t wait to see you. After all, next to a nice, warm bed, all they really want this year is a safe, loving home. But if your sleigh is stuck at Grandma’s, you can still be a Secret Santa and contribute to the bed drive on-line. Just go to DallasAnimalAdvocates.com, click the Donate button, then click New Beds for the Dogs & Cats at Dallas Animal Services. Thanks for caring!

Dallas Animal Services is located at I-30 and Westmoreland, in the Northeast quadrant, just minutes from downtown Dallas. See you Sunday, Dec. 11!

***

Subscribe via email (above right) so you don’t miss any breaking rescue news, adoptable pets, happy endings, or special event invitations.  Your email address will not be shared. You can also get DFW Animal Rescue on Kindle.  Or follow us on Facebook and Twitter!

Copyright Rebecca Poling 2011.  All rights reserved.  Email DFWAnimalRescue@att.net if you have a story you’d like to share.

This entry was posted in Events, You Can Help and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Party with the Animals Dec. 11 at Dallas City Shelter!

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I adopted a 5 month old puppy from Dallas Animal Shelter and within 1 week he was sick I took him to the vet he gave him antibiotics but he didn’t get better I took him back to the vet he gave him more antibiotics and he didn’t get better so I took him to a different vet and she told me he had Distemper and I she recommended putting him to sleep so after crying through his 3 weeks of sickness I just broke down and cried more it was the most horrible thing I have been through with a pet. The vet knows me from my other dog so she knew I was very upset… She was very sympathetic but I never thought the puppy was that sick… I love dogs and cats and I do want to adopt anther pet but I was told that you guys have alot of sick pets I feel you guys should have some kind of reimbursement like an option of adopting another pet for free to replace the sick pet. It cost me about $500 dollars in vet and adoption fees and my beloved puppy couldn’t be helped. Just wanted to let you guys know what happened. God bless all those sick pets and their owners. Merry Christmas and be blessed.

Leave a comment